If you use Family Sharing and turn on Automatic Downloads, content bought by other members of your family won't automatically download to your devices.Only content that you purchase with your Apple ID downloads automatically.After you turn on Automatic Downloads for Music, Apps, or Books on all of your devices, all new purchases that you make in the i Tunes Store, App Store, or i Books Store on any device download automatically to all of your devices.If you turn on Updates, any new versions of apps that you currently have on your device automatically download when they're available.One final note on disabling automatic syncing between i Tunes and your Apple device is that automatic backups will no longer take place.After you turn on Automatic Downloads, any purchase that you make in the i Tunes Store, App Store, or i Books Store on your i Phone, i Pad, i Pod touch, or computer automatically downloads to all of your other devices.
This means that when you delete content in your i Tunes library, this change is also mirrored to your i Phone -- sometimes resulting in accidental loss of non-i Tunes sourced material.
If the episodes are still out there on the Internet, you can recover them by choosing Download All for the When New Episodes Are Available option.
Every time I fire up i Tunes and it automatically starts to get the lastest podcasts from my subscriptions, there are always some episodes that I don't want to get which happen to be the latest ones from a couple of rarely-updated podcasts.
Before running the i Tunes software, ensure the i Phone is disconnected from your computer.
Run i Tunes and then follow the step-by-step tutorial below.